Wherein I Talk About A Poem or Two, Terrible Poems

gr-cvr-2I’m supposed to be writing a review (that’s right, dear reader, I’ve been reviewing books at Horror Novel Reviews since January!  So far I’ve reviewed The Walking Dead: The Road to Woodbury and Cthulhu Unbound 3) but what better way is there to procrastinate than by plugging my own work?

James Ward Kirk’s anthology Grave Robbers is now available in dead-tree format.  Any guesses about the theme, dear reader?   That’s right!  Puppies.  And Jesus.  Jesus puppies.

Between the Grave Robbers‘ covers are poems I wrote, two of them, as you may have figured from the title of this post.  Why poems?  The first, “The Gallows of Perdition” is based on the rhyming scheme  I found in a Robert E. Howard poem, the name of which escapes me at the moment, featuring the consequences, both legal and unholy, of an act of necrophilia in the Old West.   The other “No Rest in Arkham Graves” an abortion of a poem with Cthulhuvian themes.   Really, they’re bad.  I should be too embarrassed to even admit to writing them.

And wow…sacrilegious and abortion jokes, and talk of necrophilia in a single blog-post.  Really out-did myself this time.  I feel like I should apologize to my grandma.

Despite my lack of talent whatsoever in crafting poetry, Mr. Kirk was kind enough to accept them.  It may have had to do with the hefty contribution I made to his PayPal account.  And the attached photo of me making puppy-dog eyes.  My cover-letter for the submission consisted of just one line, “Pretty please?”

And now that I’ve done a first-class job selling this work to you, go…read!

 

One response to “Wherein I Talk About A Poem or Two, Terrible Poems

Leave a Reply

